All you need to know about the T20 World Cup final | Cricket News

When, where, who and how much the winners receive – here’s what you need to know about who decides between Pakistan and the UK.

A new champion in T20 cricket will be crowned on Sunday, when the ICC T20 World Cup final sees England and Pakistan face each other in one of cricket’s biggest venues.

Here’s what you need to know about the final:

When and where is the final?

Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), the largest stadium in Australia with a capacity of 100,000 spectators, will host the final on Sunday, November 13.

What time is the final?

The match starts at 7pm (08:00 GMT and 13:00 PST).

Who is playing?

Pakistan and UK.

How did they get to the final?

Well, that’s the question most fans have asked about Pakistan!

After losing the first two of the final games against India and Zimbabwe, Pakistan adjusted their formation, raised the odds and won the last three. The Netherlands then helped their cause by beating South Africa and pushing Pakistan down to second place in the table. They then beat their favorite World Cup semi-final opponent New Zealand and that’s how they made it to the final.

England started as one of the favorites and opened their campaign with an easy win over Afghanistan. They faced Ireland and the rain in their second game, which they lost against a rain-adjusted goal just as they were looking to gain control. Their next match against Australia was canceled after heavy rain. The 2010 champions then overcame their stutter and two wins out of two against New Zealand and Sri Lanka sent them into the semi-finals. The semi-final against India could be tough but they barely broke a sweat and chased the goal without losing a single stick.

Down but not out. Pakistani players still attend the World Cup despite losing the first 2 matches of the tournament [AFP]

How many T20 World Cups have they won?

One for each person. Pakistan in 2009, England in 2010.

Who is the favorite?

The ranking of T20 teams is only one place apart (England second, Pakistan third). Both teams recently played a contested seven-match T20 series that England won 4-3.

England’s batting dominance and superior batting will make them a little more appreciated than a pitcher-heavy Pakistani team.

What is the head-to-head record?

England hold a clear advantage in terms of overall head-to-head record as they have won 18 of their 28 matches.

Pakistan won nine matches, while one ended without a result. The last five matches saw England’s three wins over Pakistan’s two.

What is the predicted lineup?

England: Jos Buttler (c), Alex Hales, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Harry Brook, Liam Livingstone, Moeen Ali, Sam Curran, Chris Woakes, Chris Jordan, Adil Rashid.

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Muhammad Rizwan (WK), Mohammad Haris, Shan Masood, Iftikhar Ahmed, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim, Naseem Shah, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Shah Afridi.

How much money does the winner get?

1.6 million USD

What about the losing finalists?


What if it rains on Sunday?

There are a lot of tournament rules but if they can’t have a 10-man match, the game moves to Monday.

Who is the player to watch?

England’s opening pair Buttler and Hales shone in the chase against India and will be key against arguably the best bowling team of the tournament.

Left-handed fast pitcher Afridi has easily returned to the Pakistan team after injury. He seems to have found his rhythm and quickly became the joint top catcher for Pakistan alongside Shadab.

Source by [author_name]


News7h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button