Chicago Sky defeat Phoenix Mercury for first WNBA championship win

Allie Quigley led Chicago with 26 factors, whereas Candace Parker added 16 factors and 13 rebounds within the championship-clinching victory.

Candace Parker catches the rebound during the game.

The sixth-seeded Sky are the primary workforce in WNBA historical past to win the championship with out being seeded first or second.

Their eight wins are essentially the most in WNBA postseason historical past, after successful two single-elimination video games to achieve the semifinal spherical, the place they gained three video games towards the Connecticut Solar.

What to know about the WNBA Finals

The WNBA Championship Trophy is awarded to the workforce that wins the very best of 5 video games. The Phoenix Mercury gained Recreation 2 of the finals.

Of the 12 WNBA groups that compete through the common season, eight groups, no matter convention, qualify for the postseason playoffs.

The Houston Comets, the Seattle Storm and the Minnesota Lynx have every gained 4 championships for the reason that playoffs started in 1997.

Source link


News7h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button