Hockey News: Canucks’ Sedin Twins in the Hall of Fame


Henrik Sedin, Daniel Sedin, Roberto Luongo, Daniel Alfredsson, female player Riikka Sallinen and construction athlete Herb Carnegie have been named the 2022 Hockey Hall of Fame.

Sedins and Luongo are in their first year of eligibility, while Alfredsson has been waiting since 2017 to take the call.

Henrik Sedin – picked in 3rd overall at the 1999 draft, one place behind Daniel – is the Vancouver Canucks’ all-time lead in assists (830), points (1,070), number matches played (1,330) and strength points (369 ).

He won the Hart Trophy as the NHL MVP and the Art Ross Trophy as the top scorer in the 2009–10 season. He added 23 goals and 78 points in 105 playoffs, including helping Vancouver reach the 2011 Stanley Cup final.

If Henrik is the one to pass one of hockey’s deadliest passes, it’s Daniel Sedin who is the trigger.

His 393 goals are a first in Canucks history, and he’s second in assists (648), points (1,041), games played (1,306) and tee times (367) ).

Daniel Sedin won the Ted Lindsay Award as the tournament’s best player voted by NHL Players’ Association members in 2010-11 to join the Art Ross Trophy. He added 71 points in 102 playoff games.

Luongo began his career with the New York Islanders and ended with the Florida Panthers.

His best years, however, were on the West Coast.

When he retired, Luongo ranked third in NHL history with 489 wins, a number surpassed by Marc-Andre Fleury.

The 43-year-old is second to Martin Brodeur in three goalscoring categories – games played (1,044), face-to-face shots (30,924) and saves (28,409).

Luongo twice won 40 games against the Canucks, including 47 eye-catching wins in the 2006-07 season and made at least 70 appearances in four consecutive seasons.

A finalist at the Vezina Trophy as the tournament’s top scorer three times, Luongo trailed only Sidney Crosby in the Hart Trophy voting after that 47-win campaign.

The Montreal native won two Olympic gold medals, taking Canada to the top of the podium in Vancouver in 2010 before trailing Carey Price in Sochi, Russia, four years later.

Alfredsson has scored 444 goals, 713 assists and 1,157 points in his 18 NHL seasons.

The former Senators captain and face of the franchise won the Calder Trophy as the NHL rookie of the year in 1996, and scored another 100 points in 124 playoff games.

Alfredsson, 49, won an Olympic gold medal in 2006 and led Ottawa to the 2007 National Cup final.

Sallinen played 16 seasons with the Finnish women’s national team, winning Olympic bronze in both 1998 and 2018.

She had one more silver medal at the 2019 world championships along with six bronze medals. In total, the 48-year-old has scored 63 goals and added 59 assists in 81 games for his country.

Carnegie, who died in March 2012 at the age of 92, is often cited as the best black hockey player to have never played in the NHL.

After a long career in senior hockey, he founded Future Aces, one of Canada’s first hockey schools, in 1955.

Carnegie was inducted into the Canadian Sports Hall of Fame in 2001 and the Ontario Sports Hall of Fame in 2014. He was named after the Order of Ontario and the Order of Canada.

The 2020 version of the hall was finally rolled out last November after a delay due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Officials have decided not to name a class of 2021.

The selection committee met in person this year for the first time since 2019.

This Canadian Press report was first published on June 27, 2022.

Source link


News7h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button