LSG vs RCB: Rajat Patidar Smash the rift 6 times to reach the century in the IPL 2022 elimination machine.

IPL 2022: Rajat Patidar is unbeaten in 112 out of 54 serves against Lucknow Super Giants.© BCCI / IPL

Royal Challengers Bangalore batter Rajat Patidar on Wednesday, became the first player in Indian Premier League (IPL) history to break a century in the knockout stages. The hitter achieved this feat during his side’s clash with the Eliminators against the Lucknow Giants at the Garden of Eden in Kolkata. It was a memorable day on the field for Patidar as he went 112 games unbeaten with just 54 points to take his side to a massive 207/4 aggregate at the end of their 20 rounds. In response, LSG could only score 193/6.

Patidar hit 100 in 49 tackles with six goals from Mohsin Khan in his 18th game.

Watch: Rajat Patidar hits the mark with the amazing number six

He also became the first player on his team to hit a century-old record in the knockout stages, passing Chris Gayle89 knockouts in the second qualifying round against the Mumbai Indians in the 2011 edition of the tournament. Previously, the highest score of an undefeated player in knockout / knockout matches was equal to Manish Pandey in the 2014 version of the IPL. Then, playing for the Kolkata Knight Riders against the Punjab Kings in the final, he scored 94 runs for his team.

Overall, he’s the fourth unsung player to hit a century-long record in the league. The first is Manish Pandey, who went 114 games unbeaten against the now-defunct Deccan Chargers in 2009. Other players who haven’t made their mark with an IPL century are Paul Valthaty (120 * for Punjab Kings vs Chennai Super Kings in 2011) and Devdutt Padikkal (101* for Royal Challengers Bangalore vs Rajasthan Royals in 2021).


So far, there have been 5 centuries recorded in IPL knockout/knockout matches in tournament history. This includes Shane Watson (117* for Chennai Super Kings vs Sunrisers Hyderabad in 2018 finals), Wriddhiman Saha (115* for Punjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders in 2014 finals), Virender Sehwag (122 matches Punjab Kings vs Chennai Super Kings in Qualifier 2 2014) and Murali Vijay (113 for Chennai Super Kings against Delhi Capitals in 2012 Qualifier 2).

His century was also the fastest of the season.

Topics covered in this article

Source link


News7h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button