Nobel Prize for literature awarded to Abdulrazak Gurnah

The Nobel Prize for literature has been awarded to the novelist Abdulrazak Gurnah, for his “uncompromising and passionate” portrayals of the consequences of colonialism.

Gurnah was born in Tanzania in 1948 however moved to England at a younger age. He has written 10 novels, a lot of which deal with the refugee expertise.

His 1994 novel “Paradise,” which instructed the story of a boy rising up in Tanzania within the early twentieth century, gained the Booker Prize and marked his breakthrough as a novelist.

“Characters discover themselves in a hiatus between cultures and continents, between a life that was and a life rising; it’s an insecure state that may by no means be resolved,” the Nobel Committee for Literature stated in a press release.

His 2001 novel “By the Sea” follows a refugee dwelling in a British seaside city. And his most up-to-date work, “Afterlives,” picks up the narrative of “Paradise” and takes place through the German colonization of Africa.

Previous to his retirement Gurnah, 73, was additionally a professor of English and Postcolonial Literatures on the College of Kent in England.

“Gurnah’s dedication to reality and his aversion to simplification are hanging,” the committee stated. “This may make him bleak and uncompromising, similtaneously he follows the fates of people with nice compassion and unbending dedication.”

Earlier winners of the literature prize embody the French philosophers Jean-Paul Sartre and Albert Camus, British playwright Harold Pinter, and novelists together with John Steinbeck, Toni Morrison and Kazuo Ishiguro.

It was extra controversially gained by the singer Bob Dylan in 2016, whereas the committee was criticized for giving the 2019 title to Austrian author Peter Handke regardless of controversial previous feedback in regards to the Yugoslav Wars of the Nineteen Nineties.

The primary Nobel laureate in literature was French poet Sully Prudhomme, winner of the inaugural prize in 1901.

That is the fourth Nobel accolade to be given out this week, after the awarding of the three science prizes. The winner of the peace prize shall be introduced on Friday.

This can be a breaking story. Extra particulars quickly.

Source link


News7h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button
Immediate Peak