Nunavut elects 11 new legislature members in territorial election

Nunavut residents elected 11 new members to the 22-person legislative meeting in Monday’s territorial vote.

Six incumbents misplaced their seats – together with neighborhood and authorities providers minister Jeannie Ehaloak, who misplaced by 9 votes in Cambridge Bay.

Elections Nunavut says the outcomes are tentative and a choose is to do an official recount in Cambridge Bay and one different constituency.

It says voter turnout was 49.9 per cent – down from 63 per cent in 2017.

Six ladies have been voted in, tying the 2017 file for essentially the most ladies elected in Nunavut.

Members of the legislature within the consensus-style authorities are to decide on a premier and cupboard on Nov. 17.

This report by The Canadian Press was first printed Oct. 26, 2021.

Source link


News7h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button