Shohei Ohtani joins elite company with unanimous MVP selection

Ever doubted?

At some point, there aren’t enough words to describe how incredible the 2021 season has been for the Angels two-way phenom Shohei Ohtani. There are no historical comparisons in baseball – and the closest is Babe Ruth.

So it came as no surprise when Frank Thomas announced the AL MVP winner on Thursday night that it wasn’t just Ohtani, but by unanimous vote.

THAN: Sporting News MLB Awards 2021, voted by players

The unanimous victory made him the 19th player in Baseball Writers Association of America MVP history to receive all of the votes in first place. Here’s the complete list of the companies he’s involved with.

Year Player Team League position
1935 Hank Greenberg Many tigers AL 1B
1936 Carl Hubbell Giant NL Film Festival
1953 Al Rosen India AL 3B
1956 Mickey Mantle Yankees AL OF THE
1966 Frank Robinson Orioles AL OF THE
1967 Orlando Cepeda Quantity NL 1B
1968 Denny McLain Many tigers AL RHP
1973 Reggie Jackson Olympic AL OF THE
1980 Mike Schmidt Phillies NL 3B
1988 Jose Canseco Olympic AL OF THE
1993 Frank Thomas White Sox AL 1B
1994 Jeff Bagwell Astros NL 1B
1996 Ken Caminiti Padres NL 3B
1997 Ken Griffey Jr. Mariners AL OF THE
2002 Barry Bonds Giant NL OF THE
2009 Albert Pujols Quantity NL 1B
2014 Mike Trout Angel AL OF THE
2015 Bryce Harper National citizen NL OF THE
Year 2021 Shohei Ohtani Angel AL DH / RHP

THAN: Shohei Ohtani wins AL MVP worth more than $1 million in sports books

And if that wasn’t enough in history, Ohtani also became the only 29th player to win both MVP and Rookie of the Year. In that group, he’s only the seventh person to be unified as MVP and win Rookie of the Year.

Player Rookie of the Year MVP
Jackie Robinson 1947 1949
Don Newcombe 1949 1956
Willie Mays 1951 1954, 1965
Frank Robinson 1956 1961, 1966
Orlando Cepeda 1958 1967
Willie McCovey 1959 1969
Pete Rose 1963 1973
Dick Allen 1964 1972
Rod Carew 1967 1977
Johnny Bench 1968 1970, 1972
Thurman Munson 1970 1976
Fred Lynn 1975 1975
Andre Dawson 1977 1987
Cal Ripken 1982 1983, 1991
Jose Canseco 1986 1988
Jeff Bagwell 1991 1994
Albert Pujols 2001 2005, 2008, 2009
Ichiro Suzuki 2001 2001
Ryan Howard 2005 2006
Justin Verlander 2006 2011
Ryan Braun 2007 2011
Dustin Pedroia 2007 2008
Buster Posey 2010 2012
Bryce Harper 2012 2015, 2021
Mike Trout 2012 2014, 2016, 2019
Jose Abreu 2014 Year 2020
Kris Bryant 2015 2016
Cody Bellinger 2017 2019
Shohei Ohtani 2018 Year 2021

THAN: MLB 2021 awards finalists, winners

Ohtani joins the historic company with an award that is a fitting limit for an unprecedented campaign. He finished third in the American League with 46 home runs and finished the season with a slash of .257 / .372 / .592 and he was fifth in the AL with 26 bases stolen.

On the mound, he threw 130 1/3 rounds in 23 games starting with a 3.18 ERA, 29.3 percent hit rate and 8.3 percent walk rate. He’s the only player in MLB history to score at least 30 home runs and 30 goals in a single season, and he finished with 156 goals.

Source link


News7h: Update the world's latest breaking news online of the day, breaking news, politics, society today, international mainstream news .Updated news 24/7: Entertainment, the World everyday world. Hot news, images, video clips that are updated quickly and reliably

Related Articles

Back to top button