Facebook seems to be set up to pull the plug on some service that collects the user’s location. These services include Friends nearbyweather warnings, location historyand other location-based features. The company has sent users who have used these services in the past similar notices.
“Weather and Nearby Friends notifications will no longer be available after May 31, 2022. The information you’ve shared is used for these experiences, including Location History and Background Location, will stop being collected after May 31, 2022, even if you’ve previously turned it on, Facebook said in a statement.
The company also confirmed the same news to The Verge. Company spokesman Emil Vazquez said: “While we are deprecating some location-based features on Facebook due to low usage, people can still use Location Services to manage how their location information is collected and used,” company spokesman Emil Vazquez said in an emailed statement.
However, this does not mean that Facebppk will completely stop using the user’s location. As noted in the note to users: Facebook will “continue to collect location information for other experiences” to serve relevant ads and register locations in accordance with its data policy. Yes, users have the ability to view, download or delete any location data.
Facebook’s message to users
Since you’ve used Nearby Friends, Weather Alerts, Location History, or Background Location in the past, we’re letting you know that these products and features will no longer be available after May 31 2022. The information you’ve shared used for these experiences, including Location History and Background Location, will stop being collected after May 31, 2022, even if you’ve turned them on before. Otherwise, Facebook will continue to collect location information for other experiences as described in our Data Policy.
Update your settings
You can update your current Background History and Location History settings in Facebook app until May 31, 2022. After this date, the setting will be disabled.
Access Your Location History
If you wish to view or delete your existing Location History, you can access your information and download your information by August 1, 2022. After this date, if you do nothing, notify Your existing Location History information will be automatically deleted.