We all come across a moment when we need to delete messages for everyone on WhatsApp. But sometimes, we delete a message by mistake or worse, delete it only for ourselves instead of others. Don’t worry anymore; WhatsApp have your back with a new’Undobutton ‘for deleted messages.
Earlier this year in July, WABetaInfo reported that WhatsApp is testing a new ‘undo’ button to restore messages if accidentally deleted. Currently, this feature is rolling out to a small number of users who use WhatsApp for Android beta version 126.96.36.199. However, the button only appears when the user has deleted the message for himself.
How WhatsApp’s undo feature works
When a user deletes a message for 12 people using the ‘delete for me’ button, a floating quick bar notification will appear at the bottom showing the ‘undo’ button. The message also confirms that the message has been deleted. Please note that the ‘undo’ button will only appear for a few seconds, but WhatsApp may decide to increase the duration after that.
We can expect the ‘undo’ button to appear in the stable version of the app soon, as the feature is already in beta. However, there is no announcement on when the ‘undo’ button will be available to everyone.
Meta-owned WhatsApp is also working on an option to edit sent messages. Even the ability to save disappearing messages is being developed.